Hail, Hail, The Witch Is Dead!


In the belief of the Christian faith, Jesus died for our sins. Unfortunately, many people who believe this use it in a manner that I don’t think, if it were true, the act was intended for. Example: In the midst of me trying to remind ‘Christians’ that celebrating a man’s death, no matter who the man is, is not good Christian behavior, believers have stated to me that there is nothing wrong with them celebrating in the streets with the death of a terrorist leader. Their reason? They aren’t perfect. They are sinners. But that’s why Jesus died on the cross, so it’s no biggie.

Yes, I know I’m not using their exact words, but that’s how it comes across when someone tries to tell someone else that right now, at this moment they are doing something that God doesn’t want them to do and the response is essentially ‘Jesus died so I could have these moments!’ instead of saying ‘That’s right! I should stop.’

Think of it in a sense of WWJD. Do you think there is any situation whatsoever that Jesus would celebrate any man’s death? Didn’t think so. So when someone (especially someone who doesn’t believe in God, since you say you are trying to help bring people to Him, not repel them from Him.) points out that you are doing the exact opposite of what you should be doing according to your belief system, don’t tell them it’s O.K. this time because we are all sinners and Jesus died for our sins. Instead, actually make a case for your side and do what your God wants you to do. Otherwise, you are not only misrepresenting your ‘beliefs’, but you are making Jesus more of a scapegoat rather than a savior.

4 Comments

  1. Just a little something to back this up with. “In the face of a man’s death, a Christian never rejoices, but reflects on the serious responsibilities of each person before God and before men, and hopes and works so that every event may be the occasion for the further growth of peace and not of hatred.” — Vatican statement on the death of Osama bin Laden

    Need I say more.

  2. I’ll tell you how wrong you are, Doc…

    It’s “ding dong the witch is dead.” :)

    Seriously though, you are right about us losing our decency in moments like these. We should try to fight the urge to be so barbaric. It’s hard, though. Emotions run high in situations like this. We take leave of our senses.

    The celebrations are in bad taste. My posting of the song “Ha Ha You’re Dead” on facebook was in bad taste (but it was funny). But we’re relieved, and some of us express intense emotions poorly.

    • I agree, but it is at that moment when someone reminds you that you are not doing what your god wants you to, and you continue in spite of that knowledge that are moments that I think really matter. What is the use of having this faith when you don’t use the teachings when you should the most? Plus, how differently people react to that criticism depending on the person stating it. If I, a non-believer, say it, I guarantee that it would get a different reaction than if a priest says it.

  3. Well, as you know, I don’t have a god, so I have only myself to answer to for my reaction. And while I can’t deny that you are correct, and many of us behaved badly (I didn’t sing and dance in the street, but I did make a distasteful post on FB), I also can’t deny that sometimes human nature gets the best of us. We are not peaceful, enlightened creatures as we would like to think; we are animals who have evolved to have some control over our impulses in order to survive socially. So sometimes, we’re going to be animals. Doesn’t make it right; but it happens.

    But yes, those who follow the New Testament of the Bible should remember that their Jesus said to turn the other cheek and such. When I was religious, I was always taught that yes, we are forgiven, but we should try to sin as little as possible because it “crucifies him afresh” when we sin. So they are cherrypicking and making excuses (what a surprise…).


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.